The Society of Philippine Entertainment Editors (SPEEd) is pleased to announce that the group unanimously elected Eugene Asis, People's Journal Entertainment Editor, as president.

Asis co-founded what initially began as a social club for Entertainment editors of the national broadsheets and top tabloids with the late Isah Red of The Manila Standard and SPEEd's president emeritus.

Immediate past president Ian Farinas, who dutifully fulfilled her responsibilities well beyond the biennial term of leadership, happily turned over the post to Asis, full of confidence his decades-long experience in the industry and unwavering vision to help uplift the quality of Filipino movies to global standards will only steel the group and further its success.

Asis started his career in journalism in the early '80s as a writer for Kislap, Liwayway, Jingle Extra Hot and Orig Magazine where first became editor in 1982. He has been editor of People's Journal's entertainment section since 1990. Eventually dabbling into writing and directing movies, Asis also co-hosted a number of showbiz oriented TV shows, namely "Channel S" and "Movie Magazine" on GMA Network. But ultimately it is his front-row seat in the ups and downs of the local movie industry that has long made Asis an authority in local show business. It is not uncommon for seasoned actors, producers and directors to seek his advice on important matters.

Asis' top priority as he assumes the leadership of SPEEd is to mount the 5th edition of The Eddys or The Entertainment Editors' Choice movie awards by November.

Get the latest news
delivered to your inbox
Sign up for The Manila Times’ daily newsletters
By signing up with an email address, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Meanwhile, the group unanimously decided as well to keep the current roster of officers through to the new biennial term as follows: Tessa Mauricio-Arriola (The Manila Times) is Vice President External; Salve Asis (Pilipino Star Ngayon and Pang-Masa), Vice President-Internal; Maricar Nicasio (Hataw), Secretary; Gie Trillana (Malaya Business Insight), Asst. Secretary; Dondon Sermino (Abante), Treasurer; Dinah Ventura (Daily Tribune), Asst. Treasurer; Nickie Wang (The Manila Standard) and Ervin Santiago (Bandera) as co-PROs; and Nestor Cuartero (Tempo) as director and advisor. The rest of SPEEd's members include Rito Asilo (Inquirer), Jerry Olea (Philippine Entertainment Portal), Rohn Romulo (People's Balita), and Neil Ramos (Tempo).